Loot popping out of chest - diablo style

(bill) #1

Hey all :smiley:
First of all, I apologize in advance if there is already a thread about this, but I searched and couldn’t find one.
I’m pretty sure this is a very small blox event, but I can’t seem to nail it, since I’m still very new to Unity and PlyGame.

I followed a guide by @Ryan (thank you Ryan) on setting up chests with loot and I can’t believe how easy it was. Anyway, I click a chest, it plays the open animation, and loot appears beside it by an offset I applied. I want to take it a step further and have loot pop out and fly through the air a bit before landing and becoming intractable.

Here is my approach: Add an “On Start” event to my plybox on the item that will drop:

But it doesn’t do anything, it just behaves exactly the same. Perhaps “add explosion force” doesn’t do what I think it does? (edit: yes, there is a rigidbody on the item and it’s kinematic)
Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance!!

(Marshall Heffernan) #2

Did you mean to say you have a rigidbody and it’s not kinematic?

Is Kinematic: If enabled, the object will not be driven by the physics engine, and can only be manipulated by its Transform.

Ensure this checkbox is un-checked.

I’ll try out explosion force while you’re checking on that.

(bill) #3

:smile: oops! Well, that’s embarrassing. For some reason I thought it was the opposite.
Anyway, I’ve unchecked it and now it just falls through the ground. It has a box collider on it too, so I’m just working on that part. Thanks for pointing that out.

(Marshall Heffernan) #4

Alright, figured it out :wink:

1. Change MODE from Force to Impulse

1. in “force=” I used a float of 6.

2. in “pos=” I used…
    [Get Position of Self] - [Vector3 from XYZ]

I dropped in a [Random Float] for the X and Z, between [-1 and 1]
I dropped in a float of 3 for the Y.

This means the explosion (or impulse, in this case)